We recognize your dietary needs in a way that’s personalized, sensitive and supportive. We pride ourselves on working with you and our culinary teams to make sure that you find the food that fits your life. Learn about how we make it easier for you to tell what is in your food!
Our digital menu boards and website utilize iconography to quickly convey menu information, from vegan to made without gluten dishes, these icons are displayed next to each dish on our digital menu boards, and guests can use them to filter our menus online to quickly and conveniently learn about our dishes.
Menu items do not contain meat, poultry, fish, gelatin, eggs, dairy, or honey.
Menu items do not contain meat, poultry, fish, or gelatin.
Menu items that are prepared without wheat, barley, rye, or any other gluten-containing ingredients.
Products that are 3rd Party Organic Certified.
Products are grown or produced within 150 miles of the University of Virginia.
Our Health and Wellness Manager works with our culinarians to flag dishes that utilize ingredients that contain the Top 8 allergens: peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, soy, milk, eggs, and wheat. This information is available both on our digital menu boards and on our website.
Tree nuts may be present in select dessert items. Students with a tree nut allergy are advised to take caution with bakery items and any menu items that contain coconut or coconut milk.
Fish entrees are an occasional menu offering, but other dishes may also contain fish sauce, Worcestershire sauce, curry paste, or Caesar dressing.
Shellfish as an ingredient is sometimes on the menu. Additionally, although not technically considered a shellfish allergen by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), some dishes may contain mollusks such as clams, mussels, oysters, or scallops. If severely allergic to shellfish, it is advised to avoid these as well.
Soy and soybean oil are present in a large variety of products, most notably manufactured products and our fryer oil. However, our other recipes are prepared with a vegetable/olive oil blend. The FDA exempts highly refined soybean oil from being labeled as an allergen. Studies show most allergic individuals can safely eat soy oil that has been highly refined (not cold pressed, expeller pressed, or extruded soybean oil).
Milk and milk-based products are used as ingredients in many menu items. A non-dairy milk option is available every day in residential dining facilities. Items prepared with butter or margarine should be avoided.
Eggs are present in baked goods, desserts, and mayonnaise. Students are encouraged to check the ingredient information of items they wish to eat.
Wheat is a common grain found across campus locations in pasta and baked goods, but may also be present in certain salad dressings, sauces, soups, and casseroles. Gluten is the protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and sometimes oats. You can find made-without-gluten items easily using the dietary filter and designated icon.
The information contained on this dining website is provided for general informational purposes only. It is not intended as and should not be relied upon as medical advice. The information may not apply to you and before you use any of the information provided on the site, you should contact a qualified medical, dietary, fitness or other appropriate professionals to ensure that your diet and exercise are consistent with your personal health needs. If you utilize any information provided on this site, you do so at your own risk and you specifically waive any right to make any claim against Harvest Table Culinary Group Education Services, LLC., Its affiliates, officers, directors, employees or representatives as the result of the use of such information.
Please be advised that we prepare our foods in commercial kitchens where cross-contact with food allergens is possible and where ingredient substitutions and recipe revisions are sometimes made. In addition, manufacturers of commercial foods we use may change their product formulation or consistency of ingredients at any time without notice. Accordingly, actual ingredients and nutritional content may vary and we cannot guarantee that any food item will be completely free of food allergens. To the extent you have any questions regarding ingredients of a particular food item, please consult with the dining manager on duty.